Some Relief at Last

Good news at last has come for my stage 1 breast cancer.  Dr. Carter called yesterday and said that there wasn’t any DCIS cancer in my sentinel lymph nodes.  And that includes the extra pathology studies of the nodes.  The removal of the tumor included cleared margins or in other words they removed the turmor which included some of the normal tissue so as to make sure that they got all the tumor.

Today is three days out from the surgery.   I was able to clean my bathroom without too much discomfort.

Also, the geneticist, Jamie, at Bryn Mawr Hospital called me and said that all the cancer genes came back negative. That includes BRCA1 and BRCA2.  She told me to keep aware of future news on breast cancer research.  If another gene is found that is linked to breast cancer I can be tested for that gene.  However, I doubt Medicare will pay for it.  They pay for one panel of testing only.  No matter if that is for one gene study or many genes.

The next step is a follow-up visit with Dr. Carter to remove 3 stiches and talk about starting Tamoxifen .  Since my tumor was estrogen positive it means that I can be treated with this drug.  It will decrease the level of estrogen in my body. Estrogen encouraged the growth of this type of tumor. Then I will meet with an oncologist for radiation treatments.  This will involve 5 weeks of daily treatments.  Both of these post surgery treatments are as the doctor has said will make me fatigued.  And the radiation treatments may give me what will feel like a sun burn and may even make me blister.

Onward ho.

Melissa

Published by

MDWPottery

I have been doing pottery off and on since 1998. It is exciting to see my progress. I took classes 1998-1999. Then in 2003-2004 I had an online jewelry business. Now I am starting again with what makes me the happiest: clay, pottery and ceramics

Leave a Reply

