My New Adventure: Plates. The Update is Now Available: The Finished Products

For my first plates I used 2lbs of clay.  It was very difficult flattening out the clay and keeping the whole piece centered.  The tendonitis in my right thumb always acts up, making plate throwing a challenging prospect in the future.  I have only made three plates upto date.  Two are in for their second firing and one remains to show itself on the bisque cart.  It may be coming out of a bisque firing any day now.

The Trimming of My First Plate
The Trimming of My First Plate

trinket n fish cups 023

I would like to have several pieces of ceramics that are purple and Chrome Tin Red under Nan’s Albany Blue seemed to be the way to go.  I started out by coating a plate, two mugs and an itty bitty cup Chrome Tin Red.  I had ran out of class time to give them their second coat of glaze so I left them until I could come in open studio hours.  Well, all but the plate ended up getting fired with just Chrome Tin Red on them.  My teacher, Carol Seymour, said it would be almost as good to put the pieces on a hot kiln and then give them their second coat of glaze.  Heating up a piece before a second coat of glaze is important as it opens up the clay’s pores and therefore the glaze won’t run right off the piece.  Well, I chickened out and just put a second coat on the itty bitty cup.  It turned out great actually.  sort of bluey/purpley/reddish color as seen below:

Double Glazed Cup
Double Glazed Cup

This is what Nan’s Albany Blue looks like before firing.  This coming week we will see what a normal double glazing looks like using this combination.

Check out my other pieces at my etsy shop http://MDWPottery.etsy.com

Glazed Chrome Tin Red under Nan's Albany Blue
Glazed Chrome Tin Red under Nan’s Albany Blue
A different kiln time a different  color
A different kiln time a different color

All the plates where glazed the same but you can see comparing the above plates with those below that they didn’t end up the same.  It is hard to tell but the above plates are a little less purple and a little more blue than the ones below.  My teacher explained it to me that it could have been that they were in the kiln in two different loads.  It also could be several other things:  They may have been in a hotter or colder part of the kiln.  Also the bisque firing may have been in a hotter or colder effecting how much glaze they absorbed.

These are the deep purple plates below

Less blue in these plates
Less blue in these plates

These plates will be on sale at the Annual Penn State Brandywine Campus Craft and Art Fair in Lima, Pennsylvania on Palm Sunday March 29th 2015  from 9am-4pm

Other items of mine can be found at my Etsy shop:  http://MDWPottery.etsy.com

Published by

MDWPottery

I have been doing pottery off and on since 1998. It is exciting to see my progress. I took classes 1998-1999. Then in 2003-2004 I had an online jewelry business. Now I am starting again with what makes me the happiest: clay, pottery and ceramics

Leave a Reply

