The Beginning of a Good Thing – Handleless Pottery Cups

Thrown and trimmed waiting for the blue-green engobe
Thrown and trimmed waiting for the blue-green engobe

Yesterday I threw 7 handleless cups and today I trimmed them and put engobe on them.  I sent this pic and a couple others to the future owner.  They were happy to have received them and said “It was like watching a birth.”  I guess that is a good analogy.  The cups started as a lump of clay on a wheel head and were formed there; allowed to dry over night and then put back on the wheel head to be trimmed.  The next steps will be in the following upcoming posts.  Happy Throwing, Melissa Dawn Wickham  https://www.etsy.com/listing/207687380/small-blue-handleless-ceramic-coffee-or?

Published by

MDWPottery

I have been doing pottery off and on since 1998. It is exciting to see my progress. I took classes 1998-1999. Then in 2003-2004 I had an online jewelry business. Now I am starting again with what makes me the happiest: clay, pottery and ceramics

2 thoughts on “The Beginning of a Good Thing – Handleless Pottery Cups”

    1. Hi, I am not sure what you would like me to recommend? I hope you are patient with me as I am just starting out so I recommend sticking around and reading more. I am running out of money for my ceramics and have paid for one more 12 week semester. After that, I have to borrow money from friends to pay for my classes. So lately, instead of writing on my blog, I have been running around like a mad woman trying to find work on the side that will help support my hobby. I will be more diligent in the future. Thanks so much for reading. It is greatly appreciated. Melissa MDWPottery

      Like

Leave a Reply

